f

Projects

How to create a project

It’s very easy to create a new project in Nozbe Teams. To do so, open All Projects list in the left-hand side menu, and select the purple “+” icon to open the project set-up form. You can tap on the “Create New Project” button visible in the “Followed projects” section in the left panel and create a project this way.

But that’s not all. You can also open a task, tap on its project attribute, and create a new project directly there.

New projects are per default open, which means that they are visible to anyone in your team. Thanks to it, you can immediately start working on them and assign tasks to your team members. Other team members can edit the names of open projects as well as change their purposes and grant or remove access to them.

Of course, you can create a private project as well, or invite selected people from your team by choosing the “Invited members” option while setting it up. Your team projects will be marked with a “dot”, invitation-only ones with a “ring”, and the personal projects will have a padlock icon next to their names. Please note that this option is available for Premium users only.

Project’s details

Enter a project and tap on the three dots next to its name in the top bar. You can see different options in the drop-down list:

  1. Rename: use it to change the project’s name
  2. Purpose: you can describe what is the purpose of this project. It is very useful, especially in shared projects
  3. Color: use color to highlight your project
  4. Members: tap on it to see the list of users you share this project with. Here you can also add new users to this project
  5. Groups: you can check which of your groups have access to this project.
  6. End project: use it to mark your project as completed
  7. Share a project with another team: you can do it by providing the email address of another team’s owner or admin.
  8. Follow: the projects you follow are displayed as first in the sidebar on the left
  9. Favorite: mark your project as favorite to see it on the top of the list on the right side.
  10. Add section: you can divide your project into different sections. It is helpful when your project is getting bigger and more complex
  11. Clone: you can create a copy of the project, its sections, and active tasks.
  12. Select tasks: you can choose several tasks at once and edit them.
  13. Copy task list link: you can generate a link to your task list.
  14. Add tasks via email: you will find the project’s unique email address you can use to send tasks to via your email client.
  15. Show all completed: it will allow you to see completed tasks

Sections

Sometimes tasks in a project serve different purposes, especially when a project is vast and complicated. So to keep your workload in order, use project sections! Put your tasks under various sections to get a better view of your project.

How to create a project’s section

To create a new section, tap on the project’s name and use ‘Add section.’

New Section

How to add your tasks to specific sections

When creating a new task, you can choose a “+” icon in a specific section to ensure the new task will be added right there.

You can also drag and drop all tasks between the sections in a project. There is one catch- you have to have at least one task in a section to move your task there.

Change the section order

There are two ways to change the section order in a project.

New Section
New Section

Archiving and deleting sections

If you don’t need a particular section anymore, tap on its name and choose the “Archive” option to move it to Nozbe Teams’ archive. You won’t see it anymore in your project.

To restore the archived section, you first need to tap on the project’s name and choose “Show completed.” You will see your archived section on the list- tap on its name and select “Restore.”

Once the section is archived, you can delete it permanently. Please be sure you won’t need it anymore.

Followed and favorite projects

If a team member creates a new project, it will appear in Activity view of other team members.

If a project is important to you and you want to stay up to date about changes, then you should follow it. Tap on the newly created project’s name in Activity and choose ‘follow’. From now on, you will see new comments in the tasks from this project in your Activity section. You can also easily access the followed projects directly from the sidebar on the left.

Mark the most important projects as favorite. They will be displayed in an apart section in the sidebar (right above the followed projects list), and you will be able to access them easily.

Under the ‘Project’ headline you will see the list of all projects you follow. If you want to see the list of all projects you are added to (also the ones you don’t follow), tap on this headline.

Grouping projects

You can also manage projects and combine them into groups. It is a helpful feature for users who have many projects and want to manage them more effectively. Please note it’s a premium feature, so it’s not available in free accounts.

How to Create a Project Group

Create Project Group

Tap on the “All” button displayed next to your “Followed Projects” to see all the projects created in Nozbe Teams. Once you are in that view, tap on the “Groups” tab and then on the “Create new group” button.

Group’s Privacy

Now you can name the group and select who can see it. Team admins can choose whether they want the group to be visible to everyone or keep it private. A team member can also create their own project group, but only they will see it.

Choosing Projects That Belong to Your Group

If you tap on “Manage projects,” you will be able to add the projects you want to have in that group. When you finish, click on “Create,” and you will see your project group on the list.

You can also add a project to several different groups. Just tap on a project and open its menu (3 dots icon). Then tap on the “Groups” option and choose the groups for your project. Tap on “Done” to confirm, and that’s it. Your project belongs to all the groups you had checked.

Change Group’s Parameters

You can, of course, change the group’s parameters anytime you want. Just tap on the three dots next to the group’s name. You can manage projects added to the group, rename it, show all completed tasks in the group, or delete it. Don’t worry- it won’t delete the projects added to it. Please note that only the admin or the owner can modify public groups.

Joint projects

You can share projects also with other teams. If you wish to collaborate on a project with users from a different team, just go to the project, open its settings and tap on “Share project with another team”.

Create a Joint Project

The project will be shared and visible to the other team once they accept the invitation on their end.

Every project can be shared. Once a team project is shared with another team it changes into a project with limited access.

You can send an invitation to a project to someone without a Nozbe Teams account too. They will receive an email with an activation link in it. If they follow it, they will be able to set up an account.

Joint projects are available as a Nozbe Teams Premium feature only - the team inviting must be Premium, the team accepting can be a Free team.

How to clone a project

To clone a project, open the one you want to copy, tap on the three dots next to the project’s name and choose the “Clone” option.

How to clone a project

The app will copy the project’s attributes and sections, and tasks. As for the comments, Nozbe will clone only the pinned ones.

You will find the link to the original project in the cloned project’s description.

Please note that you will become the author of the entire copy if you clone a project.

How to Change a Role or Remove someone from Project?

In case you wish to remove a person from a private project, click on the “…” (three dots) button next to the project’s name (1) and choose “Members” section. In this view, you can remove this person from the project. Use the “Remove from Project” option (2). Please save the change and then tap on the “Confirm” button again.

Remove from project

In the same view you can also grant a Manager status. As a manager, you can end a project or add new users/remove them from it.

How to Delete Project?

To delete a project, you have to end it first. So open project’s details and choose End project. After confirming it you can open the details section once again and choose Remove. In the next step you will be asked to enter the project’s name.

Delete project

Please, remember that once you remove a project, you won’t be able to retrieve it. That’s why we would suggest ending your projects instead of removing them from our database.